Das Retablo-Projekt and Other Works

In 2000, Alexander Braun (b. in Dortmund in 1966) held a scholarship in Lemgo. Prior to this, he participated in an artist-in-residency program in Marfa, Texas. It was here that he became interested in Mexican culture, which finds expression in his group of works under the title “Retablos”.

A “retablo” is a Mexican votive picture. The (Catholic) believer uses this to show his or her gratitude to a particular saint for his or her help in bestowing personal fortune or overcoming an individual stroke of fate. In Mexico, retablos are painted by so-called neighborhood painters, artistic service providers, who paint the requested scene with oil paint onto a metal sheet, including the corresponding dedication text. The believer the carries the retablo into a church and nails it onto the wall.

In Mexico City, Alexander Braun commissioned Latin America’s most famous retablo-painter family, Afredo Vilchis Roque and his son Hugo Alfredo Vilchis Fernandez, to create special retablos for him. The artist determined the subjects and provided the dedication texts; the Vilchis were asked, however, to interpret the subject matter and the diction of the texts according to their own understanding. In this series, felt man and his wife, a skeleton, appear as the main protagonists. Figures, which appear time and again in his works, are now presented in everyday situations in scenes from their own private lives. In addition, the artist himself also often makes an appearance as a hidden voyeur.

With these 18 playful and at the same time touchingly earnest votive images, Alexander Braun transforms the classical retablo into a new and irritating context.

Das Retablo-Projekt and Other Works

Alexander Braun (geb. 1966 in Dortmund), war im Jahr 2000 als Stipendiat in Lemgo tätig. Zuvor hatte er ein Stipendium als Artist in Residence in Marfa, Texas. Hier entwickelte sich sein grundsätzliches Interesse für den mexikanischen Kulturkreis, das in der Werkgruppe der “Retablos” seinen Ausdruck findet.

Das Retablo ist die mexikanische Variante des Votivbilds. Der (katholische) Gläubige möchte sich bei einer/einem bestimmten Heiligen für ein persönlich empfangenes Glück bzw. die Überwindung eines individuellen Schicksalsschlags bedanken. Zu diesem Zweck gibt es in Mexiko die sogenannten Nachbarschaftsmaler, künstlerische Dienstleister, die die geschilderte Szene mit Ölfarbe auf Blechtafeln malen und mit einem entsprechenden Widmungstext versehen. Der Gläubige trägt die Tafel dann in eine Kirche seiner Wahl und befestigt sie dort mit Nägeln an der Wand.

Alexander Braun gab in Mexiko City bei Lateinamerikas berühmtester Retablo-Malerfamilie, Afredo Vilchis Roque und seinem Sohn Hugo Alfredo Vilchis Fernandez, spezielle Retablos in Auftrag. Thema und Widmungstext wurden vom Künstler in Auftrag gegeben; die Vilchis waren allerdings angehalten, Thema und sprachliche Diktion nach eigenem Verständnis zu interpretieren. Als Protagonisten tauchen in der Serie ein Filzmann und seine Frau, ein Skelett, auf. Figuren, die in seinem Oeuvre immer wieder auftreten, werden diesmal allerdings in Alltagssituationen gezeigt und mit einem Privatleben ausgestattet. Hinzu tritt als versteckter Voyeur oftmals der Künstler selbst.

Alexander Braun transformiert mit diesen 18 verspielten und zugleich anrührend ernsthaften Votivtafeln das klassische Retablo in einen neuen, irritierenden Kontext.