Achim Bertenburg – Malerei - Cover

Achim Bertenburg – Malerei / Painting

At first glance, Achim Bertenburg’s paintings appear to consist of monochrome surfaces with fogged-over or smudged structures. On closer inspection, however, one seems to find suggestions of forms with the painterly texture – shadows or contours of objects or even landscapes that disappear into the diffuse colour mist. Nevertheless, this impression never becomes certainty, since the brushwork and the ambiguous, overlapping colour shapes, which seem to merge into each other, ultimately prove to be the actual motif and motivation of these paintings.

In addition to these schematically suggested “apparitions”, one also sees lines and ciphers that represent nothing except themselves and seem to have emerged out of the spontaneous, free movement of the paintbrush. One would be tempted to speak of gestures or notations with a certain “expression”, were it not for the fact that Bertenburg is highly sceptical of the traditional categories of “immediacy”, “spontaneity” and even “expressiveness” as the basis of contemporary painting.

And yet, in various paintings, we discover strokes, arches, streaks or broad bands of colour, which serve no imaginary pictorial space, no implied reference to an object, but rather refer only to themselves. At times, however, even these purely “abstract” elements are subjected to blurriness and the clarity of their progression along a differently coloured, contrasting surface appears to gradually dissolve as though it were being swallowed by fog.

If one accepts the coexistence of contradictory pictorial experiences, one begins to reflect not only upon the painting, but also on one’s own perception. Ideally, thinking, seeing, remembering, imagining and painting are all one.

Mar 2011
Artist: Achim Bertenburg; edited by the Museum für Moderne Kunst, Bremen; contributions by Rainer Beßling and Peter Friese
Languages: German, English
124 pages, 61 colour illustrations, English broschure
Format: 29.0 x 23.0 cm

ISBN 978-3-89770-342-1

| € 25.00
Order book

Achim Bertenburg – Malerei - Cover

Achim Bertenburg – Malerei

Auf den ersten Blick sehen die Bilder Achim Bertenburgs aus wie monochrome Flächen mit nebel- oder schlierenartigen Strukturen. Bei intensiverer Betrachtung aber meint man innerhalb der malerischen Textur Andeutungen von Formen zu entdecken, Schatten oder im Farbnebel sich verflüchtigende Konturen von Gegenständen oder gar Landschaften. Doch wird dieser Eindruck nie zur Gewissheit, erweisen sich der Pinselduktus und die sich überlagernden, ineinander übergehenden vieldeutigen Farbgebilde am Ende als die eigentlichen Motive und die Motivation dieser Bilder.

Man sieht neben diesen schemenhaft sich andeutenden „Entzugserscheinungen” auch Linien und Chiffren, die für nichts als sich selbst stehen und anscheinend aus spontanen, freien Bewegungen des Pinsels heraus entstanden sind. Man wäre geneigt, von Gesten, oder Notationen mit einem gewissen „Ausdruck” zu sprechen, wenn man nicht wüsste, dass Bertenburg den alt gedienten Kategorien der „Unmittelbarkeit”, „Spontaneität” oder gar „Expressivität” als Grundlage für zeitgenössische Malerei skeptisch gegenüber steht.

Und doch entdecken wir in einigen Bildern Striche, Bögen, Schlieren oder breitere Farbbänder, die keinem imaginierten Bildraum, keinem angedeuteten Gegenstandsbezug mehr, sondern nur noch sich selbst verpflichtet sind. Bisweilen werden aber auch diese rein „abstrakten” Elemente Unschärfen unterworfen und die Klarheit ihres Verlaufes auf einer andersfarbig kontrastierenden Grundfläche scheint sich allmählich wie in Nebel aufzulösen.

Lässt man sich bewusst auf das Mit- und Nebeneinander einander widersprechender Bilderfahrungen ein, beginnt man zusammen mit der Malerei auch die eigenen Wahrnehmungen zu reflektieren. Denken, Sehen, Erinnern, Imaginieren und Malen sind im Idealfall eins.

Mrz 2011
Künstler: Achim Bertenburg; herausgegeben vom Museum für Moderne Kunst, Bremen; Beiträge von Rainer Beßling und Peter Friese
Sprachen: Deutsch; Englisch
124 Seiten, 61 farb. Abb., Englische Broschur
Format: 29,0 x 23,0 cm

ISBN 978-3-89770-342-1

| € 25,00
Buch bestellen