Editorial

During my studies as a sculptor at the Dusseldorf Academy of Art (class of Klaus Rinke) from 1977 to 1980 I started editing and publishing „Salon“, a magazine with original contributions (series of drawings, photographs, watercolours with and without text…) by artists I knew personally (Bernhard Johannes Blume, Walter Dahn, Hans-Peter Feldmann…) but also by world-renowned artists whom I met in pubs or at museum- or gallery -openings (for example Lawrence Weiner, Robert Barry, Giulio Paolini, Chris Burden…).

There were contributions by class-mates too (Yuji Takeoka, Eva-Maria Schön, Reinhard Mucha…). After having finished my studies I titled my own work ‘„original reproductions’“ (reproductions of 20th– century masterpieces; paintings, drawings, photographs) which I showed in several exhibtions as my own work of art.

In 1995 I stopped reproducing other artists’ work and established Salon Verlag publishing house, which started up where Salon magazine has stopped. My aim was and is to make the work of admired artists public (now as books and multiples). Over the past few years I started some artists-book-series: the now finished édition séparée (with co-editor Reiner Speck) as a series of artists books in which the range from unknown to famous artists is nearly the same as in Salon magazine. Then I established Edition Ex Libris, where the invited artists presents their „favorite“ book as a reprint with their new cover and a specially made bookplate. This series is like a view inside the bookshelves of such artists as Thomas Ruff, Louise Bourgeois, Lawrence Weiner, Rosemarie Trockel, Candida Höfer, Thomas Demand, Peter Doig, Mark Dion, Norbert Schwontkowski, Rachel Whiteread, Luc Tuymans, Jack Pierson, Gregor Schneider, Marcel Dzama, Marcel van Eeden, Jockum Nordström, Peter Buggenhout, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Mamma Andersson, …… who present not only their favorite book but also a kind of link to their own work of art, a sort of reference….

My intention as a publishing artist is to generate a sort of mosaic in which not just the colourful covers but also the contents of the books which I publish will eventually show the portrait of the artist as a publisher of art.

Facts: Since 1995 about 500 books were published of which about 150 are still available.

Some artists were frequently published: Chris Newman, Nora Schattauer, Günther Förg, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Bittermann & Duka, Stefan Bohnenberger, Alexander Braun, Christian Sery (= Sery C.), Norbert Schwontkowski, Rosemarie Trockel, Michael von Biel, Alexander Roob, Roland Schappert.

Editorial

Während meines Studiums an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (Klasse Klaus Rinke) in den Jahren 1977 bis 1980 verlegte ich „Salon“, ein Magazin mit Originalbeiträgen (Serien von Zeichnungen, Fotografien, Aquarellen; mit oder ohne Text…) von Künstlern, die ich persönlich kannte (z.B. Bernhard Johannes Blume, Walter Dahn, Hans-Peter Feldmann…) aber auch von international berühmten Künstlern, die ich in Cafés oder bei Museums- oder Galerievernissagen angesprochen hatte (z.B. Lawrence Weiner, Robert Barry, Giulio Paolini, Chris B urden…). Außerdem gab es noch Beiträge von Kommilitonen (z.B. Yuji Takeoka, Eva-Maria Schön, Reinhard Mucha…).

Nach Beendigung des Studiums bezeichnete ich meine eigene künstlerische Arbeit als „Originalreproduktion“ (es entstanden Reproduktionen von Meisterwerken des 20. Jahrhunderts: Malerei, Fotografie, Zeichnung), die ich als eigenesWerk in mehreren Ausstellungen zeigte.

1995 beendete ich das Reproduzieren der Werke anderer Künstler und gründete den Salon Verlag, der das fortführte, was ich mit dem Salon Magazin begonnen hatte. Mein Ziel war und ist es, das Werk befreundeter und bewunderter Künstler zu veröffentlichen (jetzt in Form von Büchern und Editionen). Im Laufe der letzten Jahre habe ich mehrere Reihen von Künstlerbüchern initiiert: die inzwischen beendete édition séparée (mit Reiner Speck als Mitherausgeber) mit monographischen Büchlein von sowohl bekannten wie noch wenig bekannten Künstlern setzte das Konzept des Salon Magazins fort. Die 2002 gegründete Edition Ex Libris, für die der eingeladene Künstler sein „Lieblingsbuch“ für einen Reprint auswählte, den er dann mit einem neuen Umschlag versieht und um sein persönliches Ex Libris ergänzt, gewährt Einblick in die Bibliothek internationaler Künstler (bisher: Thomas Ruff, Louise Bourgeois, Günter Förg, Lawrence Weiner, Rosemarie Trockel, Candida Höfer, Thomas Demand, Peter Doig, Mark Dion, Norbert Schwontkowski, Rachel Whiteread, Luc Tuymans, Jack Pierson, Gregor Schneider, Marcel Dzama, Marcel van Eeden, Jockum Nordström, Peter Buggenhout, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Mamma Andersson, ……) diese „Lieblingsbücher“ gewähren auch Einblick in den Hintergrund des jeweiligen Werks und können durchaus als eine Art Referenz verstanden werden.

Meine Intention als publizierender Künstler ist es, eine Art Mosaik zu schaffen, in dem nicht nur die farbigen Buchcover sondern auch die Inhalte der von mir verlegten Bücher später einmal ein Porträt des „Künstlers als Verleger von Kunst“ ergeben werden.

Seit 1995 wurden ca. 500 Bücher verlegt von denen z.Zt. noch etwa 150 lieferbar sind.

Einige Künstler werden bzw. wurden regelmäßig verlegt: Lawrence Weiner, Chris Newman, Nora Schattauer, Günther Förg, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Bittermann & Duka, Stefan Bohnenberger, Alexander Braun, Christian Sery (= Sery C.), Norbert Schwontkowski, Rosemarie Trockel, Michael von Biel, Alexander Roob, Roland Schappert.…